Day One (cont’d)

On Saturday I went to a weekend book stall in the street market. The books here are outrageously expensive (£2.95 and up) but the man has an odd selection and sometimes you have to expect to pay a premium. Also, I once gave him a bag of books and so now we have a complex arrangement. It all started because he once gave me a book free of charge. Refused to take any money for it at all.

“You’re a regular,” he said. And as it was a particularly cheap item, I accepted. Then another time, he did the same. I protested that he was in business but he refused to take any money and waved me away. Now, I always did expect to get a favourable discount of 10-20% of the cover price when I bought from him but to get a book free of charge was intolerable.  This imposed on me a burden that I had to repay so the next time I cleared my bookshelves I filled two bags of books and, passing his stall, I just dropped them off. Now it was his turn to be embarrassed. Good. Then I went back a few weeks later, found a book that interested me and wanted to buy it.

“That’s fine!” he said waving me away – and then we got talking about one of the books I had given him that he was very taken with. This happened again a few weeks later. It was all getting very embarrassing. I didn’t want to have to stop going there altogether. But if he kept insisting on refusing to take my money I would have to.

Anyway, come Saturday, I went along to see what he had and there it was, a book by William Saroyan, hard cover, wrapped in cellophane and priced at £4. Perfect. Not only did I want the book – absolutely had to have it – but it was obviously a prized item so he wasn’t going to let me have it for free. I added two other books and handed them over. I saw his eyes working. We had reached a new stage in our relationship. All told the books came to £10 or £11. “How about £7?” “Fine with me,” I said and walked away feeling we had overcome a particularly tricky hurdle.

And William Saroyan is the perfect writer with which to start this blog – which is what I’ll do next time

Abrazos

Jonathan Chamberlain

Author of Dreams of Gold – the comic novel of the London 2012 Olympics  http://amzn.to/zWCAPm

 

About Jonathan Chamberlain

I am a novelist and creative writer attacking all genres indiscriminately - Dreams of Gold (humour) - Alphabet of Vietnam (literary suspense) - Whitebait & Tofu (noir suspense) - Wordjazz for Stevie (memoir) - King Hui (biography) - Chinese Gods (cultural analysis) - The Cancer Survivor's Bible (self-help) My literary blog is In Praise of Older Books see www.2ndhandbooklover.wordpress.com. My Fighting Cancer website is www.fightingcancer.com. My cancer information archive is at www.cancerfighter.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

